As per ECP, Imran has been declared winner on 7 NA seats IG News

According to a notification issued by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), PTI leader Imran Khan on Thursday won the seven NA bypolls, which were earlier put on hold as Khan allegedly failed to provide information about the same to the electoral body. Were staying party funding

The decision was made public by the five-member ECP council headed by Chief Election Commissioner Sikandar Sultan Raja on December 20 last year.

The election watchdog had noted Imran’s failure to provide information on costs paid during the bypolls and postponed notification of his victory as a result of non-compliance with the commission’s instructions.

The PTI leader contested the bypolls for six of the eight National Assembly seats on October 16, 2022, while the election for NA-45 was held on October 30. These seats are NA-22, NA-24, NA-31, NA-108, NA-118 and NA-239.

They won seven seats, while the PPP managed to win only two seats.

The ECP, in its decision today, highlighted that the former prime minister had provided the watchdog with all the necessary information to allow the notification of his victory to be issued.

PTI’s counsel Anwar Mansoor Khan, during the last hearing, had requested the ECP to allow him to cross-examine witnesses, including bank managers who provided PTI’s bank statements under the direction of the State Bank of Pakistan.

The ECP’s legal advisor claimed that the inquiry process was over, and that even though PTI had participated in it four years before the Oversight Committee and eight years before the ECP, it had never attempted to put witnesses through a Didn’t say Argumentation.

On December 20, the ECP had reserved judgment on the matter after hearing both the sides.


Most Popular