ED chief Sanjay Mishra resigns after his controversial tenure, Rahul Naveen becomes the new director IG News

New Delhi: The tenure of Enforcement Directorate (ED) Director Sanjay Kumar Mishra ended on Friday after being extended four times. During his record tenure of 4 years and 10 months as ED chief, the agency initiated several controversial legal cases against politicians and organisations.

Opposition leaders who have come under ED’s target include former Finance Minister P. Chidambaram, Congress leaders Sonia and Rahul Gandhi, Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren, Karnataka Congress chief D.K. Shivkumar, NCP founder Sharad Pawar, former Maharashtra home minister Anil Deshmukh, National Conference leaders Farooq and Omar Abdullah, and former Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Mehbooba Mufti.

ED Special Director Rahul Naveen will take charge as the acting director of the agency.

The order issued by the Finance Ministry said that the 1993 batch Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer will remain the Director in-charge of ED till the appointment of the new regular Director or until further orders, whichever is earlier.

‘Is no one else capable of this?’

Mishra, a 1984-batch IRS officer, was appointed as the ED chief on November 19, 2018, for a two-year tenure. On November 13, 2020, days before his tenure was to end, Mishra’s appointment was retrospectively modified and his two-year tenure was changed to “three years”.

Good journalism matters, even more so in times of crisis.

ThePrint brings you the stories you need to read, from where they’re happening

We can only continue if you support us with our reporting, writing and photographs.

subscribe now