Modi or Kejriwal? With whom are the neutral parties on the Delhi Service Bill? IG News

  • YSR BJD TDP came in support of Delhi Seva Bill
  • The opposition got the support of the BSP in opposition to the bill
  • 4 political parties have not yet opened their cards

The power struggle over transfer-posting in Union Territory of Delhi has now reached the stage of Parliament. The government introduced the Delhi (Amendment) Bill in the Monsoon Session of Parliament. A coalition of 26 opposition parties, along with Delhi’s ruling Aam Aadmi Party, is opposing the INDIA bill. The bill may be discussed in the Lok Sabha on Thursday.

Aam Aadmi Party leaders are expressing confidence in stopping this bill in the Rajya Sabha, but in terms of numbers, this belief seems to be only a hope. The Aam Aadmi Party also expected support from parties that are neither in the opposition coalition, nor with the ruling NDA coalition led by the Bharatiya Janata Party.

The latest picture is that some parties came with Aam Aadmi Party to oppose the bill while some went in support of the bill. Among the eight neutral parties present in the Rajya Sabha, which party is in favor of the bill, who is against it and who has not yet opened their cards is an interesting debate.

AAP is pinning its hopes on the attitude of these parties

The Aam Aadmi Party’s hopes of stalling the NCT Delhi (Amendment) Bill in the Rajya Sabha rested on the stand of the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), YSR Congress and Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS). Arvind Kejriwal’s party had hoped that parties not part of any coalition would support him and vote against the bill in Parliament. The list of neutral parties also includes Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Janata Dal Secular (JDS), Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF), Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and United People’s Party (Liberal).

These parties came in support of the Delhi Service Bill

The government has introduced the Delhi Service Bill in Parliament. After the introduction of the bill, the stand of the parties which are considered important in terms of numerical strength has also become clear. Andhra Pradesh’s ruling YSR Congress and Odisha’s ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) as well as the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) have supported the bill. YSR Congress and BJD have nine members each in the Rajya Sabha. TDP has one member in Rajya Sabha.

The opposition got the support of the BSP in opposition to the bill

Opposition forces have got the support of a neutral party against the Delhi Services Bill. Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has opposed the bill and announced its support to the opposition coalition. BSP also has only one member in the Rajya Sabha.

These parties have not yet opened their cards

YSR Congress, BJD, TDP and BSP have cleared their stand on NCT Delhi Amendment Bill 2023. However, there are four parties who have not yet cleared their stand. Telangana’s ruling BRS has seven members in the Rajya Sabha. Along with BRS, JDS, SDF, TDP and UPP, which has one member each, they have not yet clarified whether they will support or oppose the bill.