Narendra Modi’s 21 years in power: In this matter, Indira-Manmohan’s record was also broken IG News

Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi and Manmohan Singh held more power as PM than Modi.

Former PM Jawaharlal Nehru was the longest serving PM

New Delhi, dated 25 November-2022, Friday

Today, the entire politics of India is seen revolving around Narendra Modi. However, along with time, politics also keeps changing, although currently Narendra Modi’s time is going on in Indian politics. 21 years ago on 7 October 2001, Narendra Modi became the Chief Minister of Gujarat. This year, on 7 October 2022, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has completed 21 years in constitutional office.

Modi on the post of Prime Minister for 3100 days

Narendra Modi served as the Chief Minister of Gujarat for more than 12 years. Modi is also the longest serving Chief Minister of Gujarat. His tenure as Chief Minister was for 4 terms. However, in the year 2014, Narendra Modi became the Prime Minister of the country. On the other hand, if all Narendra Modi’s tenures as Chief Minister and Prime Minister are combined, Modi is one of the longest serving leaders of an elected government in India. Prime Minister Modi has so far held office as the head of an elected government for 7,710 days and still has time to complete his tenure as PM. In all tenures as Chief Minister and Prime Minister, Modi served as Chief Minister of Gujarat for 4,610 days and as Prime Minister for 3,100 days.

Modi far behind Nehru

Narendra Modi has served as the Prime Minister for 3100 days, although former Prime Ministers Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi and Manmohan Singh have more than him. Jawaharlal Nehru’s tenure as Prime Minister is 6130 days, Indira Gandhi’s tenure is 5829 days and Manmohan Singh’s tenure is 3656 days. It is to be mentioned that the current tenure of Prime Minister Modi will end on 29-May-2024, though by then he will surpass former PM Manmohan Singh as the longest serving Prime Minister. So PM Modi will have to stay in power till 2031 to surpass Nehru and Indira Gandhi.

Modi ahead of Indira and Manmohan

However, compared to Indira Gandhi and Manmohan Singh, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has not lost any election till date. In this matter, he is on par with the first Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru, because Nehru also never lost an election. Indira Gandhi lost the Lok Sabha elections in 1977. When Manmohan Singh lost the Lok Sabha election from South Delhi in 1999. But Narendra Modi won all the assembly elections or by-elections in Gujarat and also won two Lok Sabha elections in 2014 and 2019.


Most Popular