The election of the vice president has begun! The Prime Minister voted IG News

The election for the Vice President of the country is being held today starting at 10 am.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi cast his vote at a center organized in the Parliament complex. Other MPs are voting after him.

Former Governor of West Bengal Jagdeep Dhankar (71) is in the field for the post of Vice President of the National Democratic Alliance, and former Governor of Rajasthan Margaret Alva (80) is the general candidate of the opposition parties.

Unlike the Presidential election, only Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha MPs will vote in this election. Nominee members are also eligible to vote. Appropriate arrangements have been made in the Parliament to facilitate voting by MPs.

Voting will be held from 10 am to 5 pm today. Then, immediately the votes will be counted and the result will be announced.

A total of 788 MPs including 543 Lok Sabha members and 245 Rajya Sabha members are going to vote. It is expected that the National Democratic Alliance candidate Jagdeep Dhankar will win with the support of some other parties as the BJP has enough MPs.

Meanwhile, Margaret Alwar, the general candidate of 17 opposition parties including Congress, Nationalist Congress and DMK, is expected to get more than 200 votes. Aam Aadmi Party, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and Telangana Rashtra Samithi have also extended their support to Alva.

It is noted that the Trinamool Congress party, which has 23 MPs, has already announced that it will boycott the vice-presidential election.

Venkaiah Naidu’s tenure as the current Vice President ends on August 10.

Election of Vice President today: Arrangements in Parliament for MPs to vote

The Ultimate Managed Hosting Platform

Most Popular

Most Popular